Gelli Transfer Film

Anyone who has talked to me about my art knows how crazy I am about my GelliArts printing plate. So when I learn of a new way to use it, I’m very excited. (I am such an art geek!) GelliArts put out a video on a technique they call Gelli Transfer Film. The basic idea is that you are putting several layers of pattern on the plate with paint. One of the keys to this technique is to let the paint dry between layers. Even more important, when you are done adding layers, the paint must be absolutely dry before the next step. When all of the paint is totally dry, strips of regular packing tape are placed over the paint then burnished very firmly, making sure the packing tape makes contact with all of the paint. Now for the fun part! Very carefully start peeling up the packing tape. This will lift the paint off of the plate and onto the tape. Now you have some cool, custom-painted strips of tape to add to your art!

This page started with a background of green-gold and turquoise. I wanted to add a strip of Gelli Transfer Film that I had made. When the tape is lifted off of the Gelli plate, the back is still a little tacky. I added a light dusting of copper mica powder to it. Then I glued it down on the right side of my page. I put a few swipes of copper paint of the page to coordinate with the tape. Then I just took my paint pens and had a blast making some geometric designs. It’s one of my simpler pages but I like it. It makes me happy!   (Click on the image to enlarge.)

4-12-14

My tape doesn’t really do the technique justice. It was my very first try. I want to do it again with brighter colors. I highly recommend using the link I provided above and watching the video. Even if you don’t ever intend to use the technique, I find it fascinating to see what other people come up with.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dhowell9000
    Apr 20, 2014 @ 03:01:02

    WHOA!??! A NEW way to use the Gelli Plate!! OH boy……here we go!! 😉

    Reply

  2. BubbleArt
    Apr 20, 2014 @ 11:45:12

    Very cool! I love the copper mica!

    Reply

  3. Jackie Beeman
    Apr 20, 2014 @ 22:08:18

    Great results cool technique !

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Packing Tape and Paint Pen Play | Three Roses Creations

Leave a Reply

