But What Do You DO With It?

If you’ve been reading my blog for any length of time, you know that I LOVE making prints with my Gelli Arts printing plate. When I show them to people, I invariable come across someone who will say, “That’s sorta neat…but what do you DO with it?” My gut reaction is to tell them it’s a piece of art and is treated as such. If they buy a painting, what to THEY do with it? There are some pieces that I prefer to let stand on there own, as a piece of art in their own right. However, after seeing some of them for a while, ideas come for ways to work with them, adding additional elements so that the art evolves into a different piece. This is when I’m glad that I photograph them before I add anything.

Here is an example to what I mean. This is what one of my  prints look liked on its own. It’s a print with two layers of stencils by StencilGirl Products in different colors. (click images to enlarge)

Gelli 9

One day I was poking through my bag of rub-ons and found some hibiscus flowers that I thought went well with my color scheme. I also added some scrolls and a title. Then I drew a simple curvy border of my own. Voila! A journal page is born!

IMG_1179[1]

I like this Gelli print both ways. While I love it on its own, I am really happy with how it looks with the added elements. THAT is one of the things I can do with it!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie Beeman
    Apr 24, 2014 @ 22:17:56

    I like what you did with it Raine

    Reply

  2. marycnasser
    Apr 25, 2014 @ 06:37:02

    Love that color combination! And the rub-on lettering is a great idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

