Comparison

I have found that the one thing that is sure to keep me from making art is to compare my work to someone else’s. Especially if I’m taking a class with students who have been making art a lot longer than I have. And, of course, online there are thousands of different artists that I can compare myself to! An artist has to walk that fine line between inspiration and comparison. There are so many art journalists that I admire and who inspire me. I love looking at their work. But when I start to compare my work to theirs, I have to remind myself that they have been working on that style for their whole artistic career. If I am taking a class, I have to remember that I can’t learn in a day or two what they have been working up to for years! I think that this quote says it simply and accurately.  (Click on image to enlarge.)

5-1-14

It’s a constant struggle. But as long as I have little reminders like this, I can power through. I’m going to go through cycles when it’s very hard to think of something to put on a blank page. Fortunately, I also go through cycles where I can hardly put my journal down. Those times, ironically, are usually when I’ve been inspired by something I’ve seen someone else do!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ladynorth
    May 02, 2014 @ 00:57:32

    Congrats on your 30 day achievement woohoo! I came across this quote the other day: ‘Comparison is the thief of Joy’ – Teddy Roosevelt . thought you might like it. blessings!

    Reply

  2. Raine
    May 02, 2014 @ 01:49:07

    Thanks, Jaen! That is actually another quote I was looking for!!! But I couldn’t remember who said it. I thought it would work great in this post. Thanks for putting it here! 😉

    Reply

  3. Cathy
    May 02, 2014 @ 02:47:16

    Love this quote!! It is a good reminder as I am barely beginning to try so many new things! Thank you for this one 🙂

    Reply

  4. Helena
    May 02, 2014 @ 06:01:41

    While reading your blog today I thought of two other quotes. One by Dr Seuss : ‘Today you are youer than you…..’ and ‘Be yourself everyone else is taken’.

    Reply

    • Raine
      May 02, 2014 @ 11:56:45

      Thanks, Helena! I love the Dr. Seuss quote! He had lots of good ones. I used the other quote at the end of my 4-22 post. It’s one of my favorites!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

