Create Art

I made this page last night after I uncovered some alphabet stamps while I was cleaning my studio. Score! Finally I *found* something while cleaning. Usually I lose stuff. I can’t tell you how many times my dear hubby has told me not to clean because I always lose things when I do.  While that is a lovely theory, it sort of falls apart in reality. But he still gets bonus points for the thought.

Here’s a fun little tip for when the alphabet stamps are sold by individual letters. It can be too pricey to buy every letter in one fell swoop. I always start by buying the letters to spell CREATE first because then you also have the letters to spell ART! Cool, huh? I always add a P so that I can stamp my initials.  Next I need a J, O, U, N and L so that I can spell JOURNAL. There is a method to my madness!

After stamping my words, I put some washi tape in the corners and on the edges. To bring the colors from the tape into the rest of the page, I made the vines with Tombow markers and the little blue flowers with a paint pen.  (Click on image to enlarge.)

5-4-14 Create Art

I love the versatility of alphabet stamps, whether in a set or sold by individual letters. They allow me to use fancy fonts that are too complex or too time consuming for me to draw. Even simple letters have such a different look when stamped instead of written. It’s always nice to have choices!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie Beeman
    May 06, 2014 @ 01:01:28

    I really like this page Raine. I love the splashy look of the paint, and of course your letters!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

  2. dhowell9000
    May 07, 2014 @ 17:04:15

    HA! So Funny!! I did a Project this Morning….and I was Debating on “stamping” or Writing…..or clipping!! How neat that we both had Alphabets on our minds and in our Art!! LOVE the fancy Letters! so Perfect! and love your “madness” But I have Found the tiny letters (full Alpha) at Hancock’s for a dollar = Like 10 different sets! and at Hobby Lobby? I have snagged full sets for around 4 dollars with the coupon….did I just get Lucky?

    Reply

    • Raine
      May 07, 2014 @ 18:05:29

      That’s cool, Dawn! We’re syncing up! I have also started getting the Zenspiration letters by Joanne Fink (by Impression Obsession). I don’t have all of those letters yet, either. But sometimes I get lucky and ACMoore will have little sets for a dollar. Good for you for scoring some of those!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

