Inspired and Working Small

I’ve been painting a little bit more lately. I’m working in another small journal that I made a while ago. It doesn’t have pre-painted pages but the smaller size doesn’t cause quite as much “white page syndrome!”  I have been inspired by teachers and members of The Documented Life Project (DLP). Either by their own art or actual tutorials, I’m learning lots of new things. Sometimes it’s something small, like smearing paint with an old credit card (the best use for them, as far as I’m concerned!), or something a little more complex, like the painted circles. (Click on images to enlarge.)

I painted the background of this page by spreading paint around with an old AAA card. A bonus is that since the paint is spread so thinly, it dries almost right away.

5-17-14 Live in the MOMENT

I LOVE making these painted circles! I learned how to do them from an online tutorial. A bunch of us doing the DLP are absolutely hooked on making them!

5-19-14

These cute little white tigers have blue eyes that match perfectly with my blue paint pen. So, naturally, they had to go on this page!

5-20-14

I’m starting to find a little more balance in my life. While I’m still doing a lot of reading, I am making time to create. Whether it’s working in my DLP planner or in a journal, it’s very fulfilling and gives me a real sense of accomplishment.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patricia Lacroix
    May 20, 2014 @ 19:47:30

    Wonderful pages Raine, and you’re right, those circles ARE addictive! I love smaller journals too. There’s less space to fill up, you don’t feel badly if you just doodle something and move on, and you can squeeze in a 10 minute spread any time. The CC trick is one of my faves too, and for the same reason, fast paint dry time! ❤

    Reply

  2. Jackie Beeman
    May 20, 2014 @ 23:35:13

    Great to see all your wonderful journal pages, glad your finding your balance!

    Reply

  3. shivashakti925
    May 22, 2014 @ 14:58:55

    those circles are awesome to play around with Raine, you do some pretty mean ones too…. 😀 …. have to give these a try on some book paper and music sheets, i love painting on music sheets…….. thanks for the link to the tutorial… 😀

    Reply

  4. Wendy Graham
    May 23, 2014 @ 04:22:59

    I love love love these pages! I haven’t tried the circles yet, but I’ll break down and try them soon. You are absolutely amazing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

