Happy New Year!

To ring in the New Year I have decided to start blogging again. Maybe not every day, but I’m hoping for at least once a week.  I’m taking several classes, so I should have plenty of art to share with you.

First up is the latest journal I made. I took an online class with Kelley Walker called Monoprint Bound. She taught us how to make prints with my absolute favorite tool, the Gelli Arts Gel Printing Plate, then make journals using some of those prints.  I made TONS of prints and then used some of them for the covers of my new journal. I used a variation of Kelley’s longstitch…because I already had pages punched with four holes and she used six. But I made it work! I hope you like it. (You can click on the images to enlarge them.)

Here’s the Front Cover…

1 Journal 1 - 2015  Outside Front

the whole outside of the journal, open….

2 Journal 1 - 2015  Outside

the back cover…

3 Journal 1 - 2015  Outside Back

inside front cover….

4 Journal 1 - 2015  Inside Front

and the inside back.

5 Journal 1 - 2015  Inside Back

I’m super happy with it. It’s always fun learning a new binding technique. I loved using my own prints for the covers. The little beady dangles on the spine really tickle my fancy!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gloria Browning
    Jan 01, 2015 @ 16:46:56

    oh no Raine… and I just put me plate up….. you inspired me again……. here I go….. smiles

    Reply

  2. Jackie Beeman
    Jan 01, 2015 @ 16:52:25

    Glad your back, Raine and your album or journal, is so pretty, I need to check out that class!☺️

    Reply

  3. Carrie Lynn
    Jan 02, 2015 @ 05:14:07

    Your journal is awesome Raine! I can’t wait to see each filled up page 🙂 Happy New Year!

    Reply

  4. Judy Shea
    Jan 02, 2015 @ 20:21:50

    Hey Raine. .I left a comment yesterday, but it didn’t take I guess. As I’ve always told you..your journals just blow me away. You color choices and attention to detail,create beauty.

    Reply

  5. Raine
    Jan 02, 2015 @ 20:54:53

    Thanks so much, Judy! That means a lot to me. ❤

    Reply

  6. Tora Geirs
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 04:15:05

    Love your journal Raine 🙂 and love to read your blog. I also decided to follow your blog. Hugs and love my dear friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

