Better Late Than Never!

I finally painted the cover of my last art journal of 2014. Sometimes I wait until the journal is filled to paint the cover so that it won’t get “dirty” as I work in it. If the journal’s cover is decorated as I make it, I will generally make some sort of cover for it. Usually I will use freezer wrap because it’s nice and sturdy. I’ve been thinking of switching to clear vinyl so that I can enjoy my cover as I work in the journal. But I digress…

The background is a soft blending of lavender and blue violet. Then I went at it with my texture tools…bubble wrap (of course! Isn’t that, like, a law?!?!?), some of my foam stamps, the end of a cardboard tube, a Catalyst blade, the end of a paintbrush. One of my new favorites is a Fineline Precision Applicator. That’s how I got those cool white squiggles. It’s basically just a bottle with a long, fine tip on it. You can make all sorts of fine marks and even write with it. Thanks, Dina Wakley, for introducing me to this awesome tool!!!!

Here’s how my cover came out. It’s lying open, flat on the table. It’s made with floor cloth canvas and designed to go around the pages, then there’s a flap that comes around to the front. (click on photos to enlarge)

1-9--15 Back of last journal of 2014

I also took some photos of my work surface after I finished painting. The paper underneath the journal will eventually end up in my art. I’d never waste all of that painty goodness! I couldn’t get it all in one shot (without climbing on a chair and risking a fall…I’m not willing to sacrifice my neck, even for the sake of art), so I took pix of each side.

Left side

1-9-15 Work Area after painting journal cover - left side

Right side

1-9-15 Work Area after painting journal cover - right side

I had a great time painting this today. It gives me a sense of accomplishment, especially since it helps wrap up last year’s project. And I have painty hands, which always makes me happy!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie Beeman
    Jan 09, 2015 @ 15:38:36

    Love me some purple! Your journal looks really large, and beautifully decorated!

    Reply

  2. Carrie Lynn
    Jan 10, 2015 @ 08:33:30

    Yey for all those yummy colors! Purple love!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Jan 10, 2015 @ 11:36:08

      Thanks, Carrie Lynn! I like it so much that I’m going to paint another journal the same colors. So I’ll actually get to SEE the cover!!!

      Reply

  3. Erika
    Jul 19, 2015 @ 18:39:00

    Lol I immediately knew you were right handed by your drop paper, which is something I didn’t particularly pay attention to in MD, but now that I think about it, you always ate with your right hand (((hugs))) miss you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

