My Personal Journal

I’ve been working a lot in my personal journal lately. The one I made with the pink, turquoise and purple Gelli print cover. I love when I just start playing and it turns into a finished page! Some of them are the result of several days of “puttering” and others were done all at once. There are no rules in art journaling, which is why I love it so much. Here are a few of my recent pages. (click on images to enlarge)

1-22-15 Magick is something you make

This page has LOTS of layers. I started with a really bright Gelli print. I toned it down with some gesso then added some stamping and washi tape. Then more gesso. Finger-painted some subtle color before stamping Dina Wakley‘s girl three times, as well as one of her handwritten quote stamps. The girls got dresses to match the background and I added the flower for some dimension. I love how all of the layers subtly peek through and make you want to try to figure out what’s under there!

1-26-15 inspired by Andrea Walford

This page was inspired by one of Andrea Walford’s “Art Journal Express” YouTube videos. The background is simply pink paint through a Stencil Girl Products¬†stencil with washi tape over it. I stamped the Unity Stamp girl on some white paper, colored in the flower in her hair and mounted the white paper onto some pink card. I added the quote that came with the girl and, “Voila!”…another journal page is complete!

1-28-15 Free Spirit

I started this page with a fleur-des-lis stencil using fluorescent pink paint. Wow! Once I chose this black and white image of a flapper, I knew I had to tone it down. Gesso to the rescue! Then I used some pearlescent watercolors around the stencil design. After I attached the photo, I tinted her a bit with colored pencils. I colored the peacock feathers with GellyRoll pens and a bit of gold watercolor. I stamped the Free Spirit sentiment and outlined the letters to make them stand out a bit more.

I hope you enjoyed looking at these pages as much as I enjoyed making them. Thanks for stopping by!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Judy Shea
    Feb 08, 2015 @ 10:28:42

    So so lovely, lovely lady.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

